Francesco De Maio

Francesco De Maio

Campania, Italy | Ceramics

Vietri sul Mare is a small ancient village of artists located at the entrance of the wonderful Amalfi Coast. It is surrounded by the prevalence of the green colour of the coast and the blue colour of the sea.  Since 1400, Vietri has been known for the production of the ancient ceramic art.

Francesco De Maio was born, in 1963, in Vietri, heir of this ancient tradition. Its decors are dressed with Byzantine, Arabic, Baroque and Renaissance ancient motifs, becoming modern and suitable to furnish walls and floors.

Ceramica Francesco de Maio is world-renowned and is regularly selected as a technical partner for creations in museums, such as the Musée des Arts Décoratifs in Paris and the Porto Design Biennial. 

Ceramica France De Maio is a real sample of “Made in Italy” not only for the reference to the artisan quality, but also for the Italian history behind this project. Handmade majolica tiles are the expression of the Italian history, each of them having a story to tell. Each majolica is unique, a work of art.

Recently viewed

Francesco De Maio

Francesco De Maio

CAMPANIA, ITALIE | CÉRAMIQUES

Francesco de Maio est une maison emblématique de la céramique italienne. Spécialisée dans les carreaux de faïence peints à la main, elle habille les plus belles villas et de grands hôtels.

C’est en 1963 que la famille Maio-Cassetta fonde la Ceramica di Vietri, dans le petit village de Vietri sul Mare, sur la côte amalfitaine. Connu depuis 1400 pour ses céramiques anciennes, Vietri est une inspiration pour les maîtres décorateurs de la Ceramica qui s’inspirent  de cet héritage, et le réinterprètent pour créer des pièces dans l’air du temps. 

L’utilisation de motifs byzantins, arabes, baroques et de la Renaissance remet les carreaux de de faïence au goût du jour, l’utilisation d’émaux raffinés leur confère une longévité exceptionnelle. Tous les carreaux sont peints à la main, gage d’unicité et d’authenticité de chaque pièce.

La Ceramica Francesco de Maio est mondialement reconnue, et régulièrement sélectionnée comme partenaire technique pour réaliser des créations dans des musées, comme au Musée des Arts Décoratifs de Paris, ou encore à la Biennale du design de Porto. 

Véritable incarnation du made in Italy, la Ceramica Francesco de Maio fait rayonner à travers le monde un savoir-faire italien exceptionnel, transmis de génération en génération.

Vus récemment