Faïence Ponchon

Faïence Ponchon

PONCHON, FRANCE I EARTHENWARE

The first Ponchon earthenware factory was established in 1820. During the second half of the 19th century, the wall tile factory experienced impressive growth, particularly with the emergence of the Haussmann buildings in Paris, and the tiled bathrooms and sinks. 

In 1991, Sylvie Thémereau revived Ponchon earthenware and passed on her know-how to Caroline Sobczak, who perpetuated this 200-year-old cultural heritage. Today, Faïence Ponchon is the last place where these typical French tiles are produced by hand. Traditional know-how and precise processes have earned it the French label of Living Heritage Company. 

Present throughout the world, Ponchon tiles can be found in illustrious homes such as Monet's in Giverny, Emile Zola's in Medan, Renoir's house in Essoyes, the Château de Vaux Le Vicomte and even in Uruguay at the Museo del Azulejo. The timeless designs of the French company are also prized by architects and decorators to adorn modern spaces.

Faïence Ponchon is a manufacturer specialised in the so-called "grand feu" decoration. The motifs are painted with stencils or freehand on a raw tin glaze then fired at 980°C. This technique gives the colours an unequalled depth. The brand works exclusively on a custom basis and adapts to each project, whether the customers are professionals or privates.

Recently viewed

Faïence Ponchon

Faïence Ponchon

PONCHON, FRANCE I FAÏENCERIE

La première fabrique de Faïence Ponchon est créée en 1820. Durant la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle, la manufacture de carreaux muraux connaît une croissance impressionnante, notamment avec l’arrivée des constructions Haussmann à Paris, et aux salles de bains et éviers carrelés. 

En 1991, Sylvie Thémereau redonne vie à la faïence Ponchon et communique son savoir-faire à Caroline Sobczak qui perpétuera ce patrimoine culturel de plus de 200 ans. Aujourd’hui, Faïence Ponchon est le dernier lieu de production artisanale de ces carreaux typiques français. Un savoir-faire traditionnel et des processus précis qui lui valent le label d’Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant.

Présents dans le monde entier, on retrouve les carreaux de Ponchon dans d’illustres maisons telles que celle de Monet à Giverny, celle d’Emile Zola à Medan, dans la maison de Renoir à Essoyes mais aussi dans le château de Vaux Le Vicomte et jusqu’en Uruguay au Museo del Azulejo. Les designs intemporels de la maison française sont également prisés par les architectes et les décorateurs pour parer des espaces modernes.

Faïence Ponchon est une manufacture spécialisée dans le décor dit « de grand feu ». Les motifs sont peints aux pochoirs ou à main levée sur un émail stannifère cru puis cuit à 980°C. Cette technique procure aux couleurs une profondeur inégalée. La marque travaille uniquement à façon et s’adapte à chaque projet, que les clients soient professionnels ou particuliers.

Vus récemment