BlackCork

BlackCork

VILA NOVA DE GAIA, PORTUGAL | FURNITURE & LIGHTING

Blackcork is a Portuguese contemporary furniture brand.

Blackcork is the result of the know-how of Sofalca, a Portuguese company that has been working with the unique properties of this material since 1966. In addition to being an excellent thermal and acoustic insulator, black cork is also a CO2 collector from the atmosphere.

Sofalca honours this material with a particularly responsible production process. The cork granules are agglomerated using 100% natural technology, by injecting water vapour. The production is ecological, waste-free and 95% energy self-sufficient.

The company opens up the field of possibilities by creating its Blackcork brand. Blackcork's designer and artistic director, Toni Grilo, invited a new generation of Portuguese designers to develop this first collection.

Born in Nancy (France) in 1979 and after graduating at the École Boulle in Paris in 2001, he moved to Lisbon where he discovered a rich industrial and craft country and became obsessed by the beauty of technical processes and materials. After various collaborations, he decided to stay permanently in Portugal: he founded in 2005 a first agency, Objection, with the designer Elder Monteiro, and in 2008 he opened his own studio, creating products, furniture and scenography. Now based in Porto, he manages several international brands such as Riluc, Haymann, Blackcork or the centenary silver manufacturer Topázio.

The Collection BlackCork

Frame - Side TableFrame - Side Table

BlackCork

Frame - Side Table

€1.032
Frame - Coffee TableFrame - Coffee Table

BlackCork

Frame - Coffee Table

€1.176
Frame - Console Frame - Console

BlackCork

Frame - Console

€1.368
Cacao - ArmchairCacao - Armchair

BlackCork

Cacao - Armchair

€1.680
Cacao - DaybedCacao - Daybed

BlackCork

Cacao - Daybed

€2.820
Cut - Side TableCut - Side Table

BlackCork

Cut - Side Table

€624
Cut - Bar StoolCut - Bar Stool

BlackCork

Cut - Bar Stool

€672
Cut - StoolCut - Stool

BlackCork

Cut - Stool

€540
Cut - ArmchairCut - Armchair

BlackCork

Cut - Armchair

€720
Cut - ChairCut - Chair

BlackCork

Cut - Chair

€576
Rohla - Coffee TableRohla - Coffee Table

BlackCork

Rohla - Coffee Table

€480
O - StoolO - Stool

BlackCork

O - Stool

€420
Ypsilon - Coffee TableYpsilon - Coffee Table

BlackCork

Ypsilon - Coffee Table

€1.368
Ypsilon - SofaYpsilon - Sofa

BlackCork

Ypsilon - Sofa

€2.328
Ypsilon - ChairYpsilon - Chair

BlackCork

Ypsilon - Chair

€1.356
Omega - Large StoolOmega - Large Stool

BlackCork

Omega - Large Stool

€1.104

Recently viewed

Blackcork

Blackcork

VILA NOVA DE GAIA, PORTUGAL | MOBILIER ET LUMINAIRE

Blackcork est une marque de mobilier contemporain portuguaise qui sublime un matériau original : le liège noir.

Blackcork est issue du savoir-faire de Sofalca, une société portugaise qui exploite les propriétés uniques de ce matériau depuis 1966. Au-delà d’être un excellent isolant thermique et acoustique, le liège noir est aussi un capteur de CO2 de l’atmosphère.

Sofalca fait honneur à ce super-matériau avec une production particulièrement responsable. Les granulés de liège sont uniquement issus de l’élagage des arbres et sont agglomérés grâce à une technologie 100% naturelle, par injection de vapeur d’eau. La production est écologique, sans déchet, et à 95% autonome en énergie.

La société ouvre le champ des possibles en créant sa marque Blackcork. Le designer et directeur artistique de Blackcork, Toni Grilo a invité la nouvelle génération de designers portugais à développer cette première collection. 

Né à Nancy en 1979 et diplômé de l'École Boulle à Paris en 2001, Toni Grillo repart ensuite retrouver ses racines au Portugal où il découvre un riche pays industriel et artisanal et est vite obsédé par la beauté des procédés techniques et des matériaux. Après diverses collaborations, il fonde en 2005 une première agence, Objection, avec le designer Elder Monteiro, et en 2008 il ouvre son propre studio, créant des produits, du mobilier et de la scénographie. Aujourd'hui basé à Porto, il gère plusieurs marques internationales telles que Riluc, Haymann, Blackcork ou la manufacture d'argenterie centenaire Topázio.

Vus récemment